Free Stroke Webinar: Translational, Vascular Cognitive Impairment

Date: July 25, 2013, at 9:00 AM EDT | 6:00 AM PDT | 2:00 PM GMT

Presenter: Costantino Iadecola, MD

Vascular dementia is a leading cause of cognitive decline with many commonalities of risk factors and treatments with ischemic stroke. Ischemic stroke can in some patients trigger the onset of vascular dementia or exacerbate it. Regulation of the cerebral blood vessels and their blood flow may contribute to the initiation and progression of vascular dementia. Many patients presumed to have Alzheimer’s type of dementia in fact have a combination of this disorder and vascular dementia, i.e., mixed dementia. The substantial contribution of vascular dementia to the growing problem of cognitive impairment in the elderly affords new therapeutic targets to reduce this disease burden.

Highlights:
1. Most common causes of vascular dementia
2. Cerebrovascular regulation and dysregulation
3. Hypertension, aging and amyloid as risk factors
4. Overlap between vascular dementia and Alzheimer’s disease
5. Potential therapeutic targets for cerebral vasoprotection

Click here to register for this free event.

Source: American Heart Association

Blog Widget by LinkWithin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge