Specialist Certification

For physical therapists (currently licensed to practice in the United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, or the Virgin Islands) who would like to apply for specialist certification, please be reminded that the application deadline will be on July 31, 2008. Interested applicants should start by downloading the “Application and Info” booklets appropriate to their specialty area.

About Specialist Certification

The American Physical Therapy Association (APTA), a national professional organization representing more than 68,000 members throughout the United States, established the specialist certification program in 1978. Specialization is the process by which a physical therapist builds on a broad base of professional education and practice to develop a greater depth of knowledge and skills related to a particular area of practice. Clinical specialization in physical therapy responds to a specific area of patient need and requires knowledge, skill, and experience exceeding that of the physical therapist at entry to the profession and unique to the specialized area of practice. The specialist certification program was established to provide formal recognition for physical therapists with advanced clinical knowledge, experience, and skills in a special area of practice and to assist consumers and the health care community in identifying these physical therapists.

Read more »

Click here to view the 2009 Minimum Eligibility Requirements for All Physical Therapist Specialist Certification Examinations.

Blog Widget by LinkWithin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge